Kentucky's First Approved Defensive Boating Course
Get back on the water fast!
one exam attempt
Have You Received a Boating Citation?
Kentucky boaters in violation of the boating statutes described in KRS Chapter 235, which include boating while intoxicated, operating a vessel negligently, and any violations made in the presence of an enforcement officer, may be required by their County Court to enroll in, attend, and successfully complete an approved safe boating course for violators.
About the Course
Historically, the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources has not accepted online or correspondence courses to meet the mandatory violator education requirements. Now, the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources has partnered with Boat Ed, the leader in boater safety education, to offer the state’s first approved defensive boating course.
- Required in addition to the classroom boating education course
- Court-approved course
- Simple registration process
- No hidden fees! $100.00 for course, exam, and certificate
- Instant completion results
- Online certificate processing
If you have questions about the disposition of your conviction or requirements, contact your County Court Clerk’s office.
No Boating Citation?
Then you are eligible to take the Boat Kentucky Course.
Kentucky Frequently Asked Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Boat Kentucky Violator Course cost?
The Boat Kentucky Violator Course fee is $100.
Taking the Course
Do I have to complete the course all at once?
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.
What is the minimum age to take the Boat Kentucky Violator Course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Boat Kentucky Violator Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Kentucky to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Kentucky Boating Violator Course approved by the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources?
The Kentucky Boating Violator Course is approved and accepted by the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources.
Quizzes and/or Exams
I failed a unit quiz. Have I failed the course?
If you fail a unit quiz, you must restudy the unit and take the quiz again until you pass. You must score at least 70% on the unit quizzes to pass.
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the Certification Exam to pass. You have 1 attempts to pass the Certification Exam. If you do not pass the exam in the 1 attempts given, you will be required to repeat the entire course. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Kentucky Boating Violator Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Course Completion Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Course Completion Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES after course completion.
We’re people, not robots.
Visit our Boat Ed help center for frequently asked questions, troubleshooting, or for further customer support!