Oklahoma Boating Laws and Regulations
Age and Operator Restrictions
A child under 12 years of age may not operate, under any circumstances, a vessel powered by a motor or combination of motors over 10 hp, a personal watercraft (PWC), or a sail-powered vessel 16 feet or more in length.
A child 12 years of age or older but not yet 16 years of age may operate a vessel powered by a motor or combination of motors over 10 hp, a personal watercraft (PWC), or a sail-powered vessel 16 feet or more in length only if all of the following conditions are met.
- He or she has successfully completed an approved boating safety education course or passed a proctored equivalency examination and has received a Boater Education Certificate and…
- He or she is supervised by a competent person who is at least 18 years of age.
- If the vessel is other than a personal watercraft: The supervising person must be on board and in position to take immediate control of the vessel.
- If the vessel is a PWC: The person must supervise visually within 500 yards of the PWC.
Oklahoma law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty: Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Get Certified Online!
Take this Oklahoma–approved course to complete your online boating safety education. Boat-ed.com is a delegated provider for the Oklahoma Highway Patrol Marine Enforcement Section.Lifetime Card
unlimited exam attempts