Missouri State–Approved Boat Rental Course
Take this official Missouri course for boat renters, receive your temporary certificate, and get on the water.
Get certified to rent in 3 steps.
Review the Missouri Boating Handbook. Pay for and pass the Missouri Boat Rental Checklist.
Print your Temporary Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card. Present this card to the boat rental facility, along with your driver's license.
Get your rental, keep your temporary certification card on board, and get on the water.
Missouri law only allows a temporary permit to be obtained one time per person.
Missouri Frequently Asked Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Missouri Boat Rental Course cost?
The Missouri Boat Rental Course fee is $4.50. You will also pay a $4.50 Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division fee.
Taking the Course
Do I have to complete the course all at once?
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
You must be at least 16 years old to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Missouri Boat Rental Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Missouri to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Missouri Boat Rental Course approved by the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division?
The Missouri Boat Rental Course is approved and accepted by the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division.
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Missouri Boat Rental Checklist is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score 100% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Missouri Boat Rental Course course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Temporary Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 7 days after course completion.
We’re people, not robots.
Your Boat Ed course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
9:00am to Midnight EST, seven days a week.
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)