Who needs the Boater Education Card?
You need education if you are at least 16 years old and will be operating a motorboat over 25 hp or a ski craft in New Hampshire.
You must be at least 15 years old to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of New Hampshire to take this online course.
New Hampshire accepts the following certificates or licenses in lieu of the New Hampshire Safe Boating Certificate.
- A boating certificate issued by another state agency and NASBLA approved.
- A boating certificate issued by the U.S. Power Squadrons.
- A boating certificate issued by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary.
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard.
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the state of New Hampshire.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have the New Hampshire Boater Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer. Not carrying your New Hampshire Boater Card when it is required can result in a fine.
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the New Hampshire Boater Education Certificate?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
For these and other questions about your boating card, please check our FAQs.
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions New Hampshire Boating students most frequently ask.New Hampshire Frequently Asked Questions