What is the Boater Education Card?
The Boating Safety Education I.D. Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved boater safety course. This card allows boating in Florida.
Operators are exempt from needing to get the license if they are:
- Licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel
- Operating on a private lake or pond
- Accompanied on board by a person who is exempt from the education requirement or by a person who is at least 18 years old, possesses the required identification cards, and is attendant to the operation of the vessel and responsible for any violation that occurs
- Operating a vessel within 90 days after purchase and have a bill of sale on board and available for inspection
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have the Florida Boater Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer. Not carrying your Florida Boater Card when it is required can result in a fine.
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Florida Boater Education Certificate?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
For these and other questions about your boating card, please check our FAQs.
Get Certified Online!
Take this Florida–approved online boating course to complete your boaters safety education. Boat-ed.com is a delegated provider for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.Lifetime Card Get Started
get your boating license, unlimited free exam attempts
We’re people, not robots.
Visit our Boat Ed help center for frequently asked questions, troubleshooting, or for further customer support!