Mississippi Boating Laws and Regulations
Age and Operator Restrictions
Those younger than 12 years of age must be accompanied on board by someone who is at least 21 years old.
Mississippi law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty: Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Get Certified Online!
Take this Mississippi–approved online boating course to complete your boaters safety education. Boat-ed.com is a delegated provider for the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks.Lifetime Card Get Certified
unlimited exam attempts
We’re people, not robots.
Visit our Boat Ed help center for frequently asked questions, troubleshooting, or for further customer support!