Official New York Boating Safety Course

Take this New York–approved course to complete your online boating safety education.

New York Boating safety education card Lifetime Card

Do you need New York Boating education?

You need education in New York if you are at least 14 years old and will be operating a PWC or if you are at least 10 years old and born on or after May 1, 1996, will be unaccompanied, and will be operating another type of vessel.

Note: As of January 1, 2020, New York law will require all boat operators to carry the New York boating safety certificate. This law will be phased in over six years.

Get boater certified in 3 steps.

  1. Study and pass the $29.50 online course.

  2. Print your online course completion document.

  3. Get ready to go boating!

Do you need a Boating License in New York?

As of January 1, 2020, New York will begin a phase-in-by-age law that will require a new age group to become certified each year, requiring all motorized boat and PWC operators to pass a boater safety course and to carry a New York boater card by January 1, 2025. All motorized boat operators born on or after January 1, 1993, will be required to carry the New York boater card by January 1, 2020.

New York State Parks Requirements

You must be at least 10 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of New York to take this online course.

Reviews


Customer Reviews

What to Expect From Boat Ed

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.

Watch this 54-second sample to see how we put you in the driver’s seat.

Comprehensive Instruction in New York Boating Safety Education

This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by New York. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

We’re people, not robots.

Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

9:00 a.m. to midnight EST, seven days a week.

Get help seven days a week from professionals like Katy, Heidi, Josh, Misty, Liz, Allen, and Thomas.

1-800-830-2268 toll-free

or

214-351-0461

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team

New York Approved

New York State Parks logo

New York State Parks
Marine Services Bureau
Albany, NY 12238

Made in the U.S.A.

This safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations worldwide.

Is it the Boating safety license?

Boating safety education certification is not the same thing as a Boating license. The New York State Boating Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved boating safety course and allows you to operate on New York waters. The New York Adventure License program lets you choose to have your certification noted, as an anchor icon, on your New York driver’s license or other identification document issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

You can get the New York State Boating Safety Certificate by taking this boat safety course at Boat Ed. Find out if you need the card.

Did you lose your card? Replace it here.

Do you need a Boating license to drive a boat in New York?

Brianna’s Law will expand the requirements for boating safety certificates in New York. The law requires that all operators of motorized vessels hold a boating safety certificate. The law goes into effect on January 1, 2020, and the requirements will be phased in over six years.

  • January 1, 2020: Persons 27 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2021: Persons 28 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2022: Persons 34 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2023: Persons 40 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2024: Persons 46 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2025: All persons regardless of age
  • Get Started →

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions New York Boating students most frequently ask.

New York Frequently Asked Questions