Get Your Official California Boater Card Online
Take this California–approved course to receive your lifetime boating card.
unlimited exam attempts
Get boater certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the online course.
Print your Certificate of Completion.
Get your California Boater Card.
Do you need a Boating License in California?
As of January 1, 2018, California began a phase-in-by-age law that requires all boat and PWC operators to pass a boater safety course and to carry the California boater card. The law is being phased in over several years. Operators 35 years of age or younger are required to carry the California Boater Card by January 1, 2020.
California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of California to take this online course.
Each year a new age group is added to those required to carry a Boater Card.
January 1, 2018 - Persons 20 years of age or younger
January 1, 2019 - Persons 25 years of age or younger
January 1, 2020 - Persons 35 years of age or younger
January 1, 2021 - Persons 40 years of age or younger
January 1, 2022 - Persons 45 years of age or younger
January 1, 2023 - Persons 50 years of age or younger
January 1, 2024 - Persons 60 years of age or younger
January 1, 2025 - All persons regardless of age
What to Expect From Boat Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in California Boating Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by California. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
9:00 a.m. to midnight EST, seven days a week.
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Katy, Heidi, Josh, Misty, Liz, Allen, and Thomas.
California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways
1 Capitol Mall, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95814
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations worldwide.
Is it the Boating safety license?
The boater education certificate in California is often called a “boating license.” While the certificate is often called a California boating license, the certification does not expire and does not need to be renewed.
Do you need a Boating license to drive a boat in California?
California boating law requires boaters to obtain and carry a California Boater Card (CBC) while operating a recreational motorized vessel on California waterways. This card is often called the ‘California boating license’. The CBC requirement will be phased in over 8 years.
- January 1, 2018: Persons 20 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2019: Persons 25 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2020: Persons 35 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2021: Persons 40 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2022: Persons 45 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2023: Persons 50 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2024: Persons 60 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2025: All persons regardless of age
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions California Boating students most frequently ask.California Frequently Asked Questions