Official South Carolina Boating Safety Course Online
Take this South Carolina–approved course to complete your online boating safety education.
unlimited exam attempts
Get boater certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $34.95 online course.
Print your online course completion document.
Get ready to go boating!
South Carolina Boating Education Requirements
Anyone under the age of 16 years:
- May operate a vessel or personal watercraft (PWC) powered by a motor of less than 15 horsepower without any restrictions and…
- May operate a vessel or PWC powered by a motor of more than 15 horsepower only if they are accompanied by an adult at least 18 years old who is not under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs or…
- They have passed a boating safety course approved by the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources.
Anyone 16 years of age or older may operate any vessel or PWC without any restrictions.
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of South Carolina to take this online course.
What to Expect From Boat Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in South Carolina Boating Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by South Carolina. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
9:00 a.m. to midnight EST, seven days a week.
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Katy, Heidi, Josh, Misty, Liz, Allen, and Thomas.
South Carolina Approved
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 167
Columbia, SC 29202
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations worldwide.
Is it the Boating safety license?
Boating safety education certification is not the same thing as a Boating license. What you really need is the South Carolina Boater Education Certificate. You can get the South Carolina Boater Education Certificate by taking this boat safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here!Get Started →
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions South Carolina Boating students most frequently ask.South Carolina Frequently Asked Questions