Official Wisconsin Boating Safety Course

Take this Wisconsin–approved course to complete your online Boating safety education.

Wisconsin Boating safety education card Lifetime Card

Get Boating certified in 3 steps.

  1. Study and pass the $29.50 course.

  2. Print your online course completion document.

  3. Get ready to go boating!

Do you need Wisconsin Boating education?

You need education if you are at least 16 years old and born on or after Jan. 1, 1989, and will be operating a motorboat or PWC in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Requirements

Important! You'll need your WI DNR Customer Number to complete the course. Call WI DNR at 1-888-936-7463 or visit a DNR service center to get yours.

There is no minimum age requirement to take the Boat Wisconsin.

You do not have to be a resident of Wisconsin to take this online course.

What To Expect From Boat Ed

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.

 

Watch this 54-second sample to see how we put you in the driver’s seat.

Made by Boaters, for Boaters

Boat Ed has a TrustPilot rating of 9.1 out of 10 based on 213 ratings and reviews.

Comprehensive Instruction in Wisconsin Boating Safety Education

This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by Wisconsin. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources logo

State-Approved Content

As a course provider approved by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, the Boat Wisconsin covers everything a new boater may need to know in order to be safe in Wisconsin while boating.

Sign Up For Free →

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Boat Ed offers the only online Boating education courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

We’re people, not robots.

Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday

Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.

1-800-830-2268 toll-free

or

214-351-0461

Email Boat Ed Support

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team

Wisconsin Approved

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources logo

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
101 S. Webster Street, PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707-7921
608-266-2621

Made in the U.S.A.

This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.

Wisconsin Boating License FAQs

The boater education certificate in Wisconsin is often called a “boating license.” While the certificate is often called a Wisconsin boating license, the certification does not expire and does not need to be renewed.

Do you need a license to drive a boat in Wisconsin?

Wisconsin boating laws require boaters at least 16 years old and born on or after Jan. 1, 1989, to get certified by completing a boater safety course. This certification is sometimes called the “Wisconsin boating license.”

Sign Up For Free →

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Wisconsin Boating students most frequently ask.

Frequently Asked Questions