Official Colorado Boating Safety Course Online
Take this Colorado–approved course to complete your online Boating safety education.
unlimited exam attempts
Get Boating certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $29.50 online course.
Print your online course completion document.
Get ready to go boating!
Colorado Boating Education Requirements
Anyone under the age of 14 years may not operate any motorboat or PWC on Colorado's public waters. Anyone between the ages of 14 and 15 years must successfully complete an approved boater education course to legally operate a motorized vessel in the state of Colorado. Boaters under the age of 16 years must be able to show proof of education upon request by a law enforcement official. Boaters 16 years of age and older are not required to have boater education to operate a motorized vessel.
Colorado State Parks Requirements
Important! If you are 14 or 15 years old and wish to operate a motorboat, you are required to successfully complete a proctored exam in a classroom setting and cannot take the online course.
You must be at least 16 years old to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Colorado to take this online course.
What to Expect From Boat Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in Colorado Boating Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by Colorado. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.
Colorado State Parks
1313 Sherman Street, Suite 618
Denver, CO 80203
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.
Is it the Boating safety license?
Boating safety education certification is not the same thing as a Boating license. What you really need is the Colorado Boating Safety Certificate. You can get the Colorado Boating Safety Certificate by taking this boat safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here!!!!!Get Started →
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Colorado Boating students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions