Skip to main content

Official Massachusetts Boating Safety Course

Take this Massachusetts–approved course to complete your online boating safety education. Boat-ed.com is a delegated provider for the Massachusetts Environmental Police.

Massachusetts safety education card Lifetime Card

Do you need Massachusetts Boating education?

You need education if you are 12 through 15 years of age and will be operating a motorboat unsupervised in Massachusetts. You also need education if you are 16 or 17 years of age and will be operating a personal watercraft (PWC) unsupervised.

Get boater certified in 3 steps.

  1. Study and pass the $39.95 online course.

  2. Print your Boater Education Temporary Certificate.

  3. Get ready to go boating!

Do you need a Boating License in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts law requires all motorboat operators who are 12 through 15 years of age to complete an approved boating course in order to operate a motorboat without adult supervision. Also, all PWC operators who are 16 or 17 years of age or older must complete an approved boating course.

Massachusetts Environmental Police Requirements

You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Massachusetts to take this online course.

Reviews


Customer Reviews

What to Expect From Boat Ed

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.

Watch this 54-second sample to see how we put you in the driver’s seat.

Comprehensive Instruction in Massachusetts Boating Safety Education

This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by Massachusetts. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Boat course displayed on various devices

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

Course outline displaying progress

Massachusetts Approved

Massachusetts Environmental Police logo

Massachusetts Environmental Police
251 Causeway Street, Suite 101 Boston, MA 02114

Made in the U.S.A.

This safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations worldwide.

Is it the Boating safety license?

Boating safety education certification is not the same thing as a Boating license. What you really need is the Boater Safety Certificate. You can get the Boater Safety Certificate by taking this boat safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.

Did you lose your card? Replace it here.

Start the Course
Logos; Global Marine Insurance, Boat-ed.com

Save On Boat Insurance

We’ve partnered with Global Marine Insurance to bring you a fast, convenient way to protect your investment and hit the water with peace of mind. Global Marine’s boat insurance experts work with the major insurance carriers to find you the coverage you need at the best rates, it couldn’t be easier. Get your quote and start saving today!

Quick Online Quote
boating insurance

Massachusetts Frequently Asked Questions

Price and Payment

How much does the Massachusetts Boat Ed Course cost?

The Massachusetts Boat Ed Course fee is $39.95.

Taking the Course

Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Massachusetts?

Do I have to complete the course all at once?

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.

What is the minimum age to take this online course?

You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.

Do I have to be a resident to take the Massachusetts Boat Ed Course?

You do not have to be a resident of Massachusetts to take this online course.

Course Approval and Acceptance

Is the Massachusetts Boat Ed Course approved by the Massachusetts Environmental Police?

The Massachusetts Boat Ed Course is approved and accepted by the Massachusetts Environmental Police.

Is my Massachusetts Boater Safety Certificate accepted elsewhere?

For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Quizzes and/or Exams

I failed a unit quiz. Have I failed the course?

If you fail a unit quiz, you must restudy the unit and take the quiz again until you pass. You must score at least 80% on the unit quizzes to pass.

Do I have to take an online exam?

The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.

About Your Certification

What is the proof of online Massachusetts Boat Ed Course completion?

Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Boater Education Temporary Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Boater Education Temporary Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 365 days after course completion.

What is the permanent Massachusetts Boater Safety Certificate?

The Boater Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Boater Safety Certificate will arrive within 8-10 business days after you complete all certification requirements.

Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents

How do I replace my Boater Safety Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?

To replace a lost or destroyed Boater Safety Certificate, you can order a duplicate by emailing [email protected].

We’re people, not robots.

Visit our Boat Ed help center for frequently asked questions, trouble-shooting, or for further customer support!

Boat Ed Help Center