Official West Virginia Boating Safety Course Online
Take this West Virginia–approved course to complete your online boating safety education.
unlimited exam attempts
Get Boating certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $29.50 online course.
Print your online course completion document.
Get ready to go boating!
West Virginia Boating Education Requirements
All operators born on or after December 31, 1986, must have the West Virginia Boater Education Certificate to operate a motorized vessel or personal watercraft (PWC) in West Virginia. Anyone between the ages of 12 and 14 years may legally operate a vessel, including a PWC, powered by a motor of 10 or less horsepower only if he or she is accompanied by a person 18 years or older.
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of West Virginia to take this online course.
What to Expect From Boat Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in West Virginia Boating Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by West Virginia. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.
West Virginia Approved
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
324 Fourth Avenue
South Charleston, WV 25303-1228
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.
Is it the Boating safety license?
Boating safety education certification is not the same thing as a Boating license. What you really need is the West Virginia Boater Education Certificate. You can get the West Virginia Boater Education Certificate by taking this boat safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here!!!!!Get Started →
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions West Virginia Boating students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions