Official Kansas Boating Safety Course Online
Take this Kansas–approved course to complete your online boating safety education.
unlimited exam attempts
Get Boating certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $29.50 online course.
Print your online course completion document.
Get ready to go boating!
Kansas Boating Education Requirements
Anyone under the age of 12 years may not operate a motorized vessel or personal watercraft (PWC) on Kansas waters, unless accompanied by and under the direct supervision of an adult 17 years or older. Anyone older than 21 years of age may operate a motorized vessel, sailboat, or PWC without any restrictions. Non-resident boaters must comply with these education requirements on Kansas waterways.
Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Kansas to take this online course.
What to Expect From Boat Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in Kansas Boating Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by Kansas. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.
Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism
512 SE 25th Ave.
Pratt, KS 67124
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.
Is it the Boating safety license?
Boating safety education certification is not the same thing as a Boating license. What you really need is the Kansas Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Kansas Boater Education Certificate by taking this boat safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.Get Started →
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Kansas Boating students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions