Official North Carolina Boating Safety Course Online
Take this North Carolina–approved course to complete your online boating safety education.
unlimited exam attempts
Get Boating certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $34.95 online course.
Print your online course completion document.
Get ready to go boating!
North Carolina Boating Education Requirements
Anyone under the age of 14 years may not legally operate a personal watercraft (PWC). Anyone between the ages of 14 and 15 years may operate a PWC only if he or she:
- Is accompanied by a person 18 years or older or…
- Has a person identification and a valid boater education card
Anyone 16 years of age or older may operate a PWC only if he or she has successfully completed the state boating education requirements.
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of North Carolina to take this online course.
What to Expect From Boat Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in North Carolina Boating Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by North Carolina. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.
North Carolina Approved
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
1751 Varsity Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations worldwide.
Is it the Boating safety license?
Boating safety education certification is not the same thing as a Boating license. What you really need is the North Carolina Boater Education Certificate. You can get the North Carolina Boater Education Certificate by taking this boat safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here!!!!!Get Started →
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions North Carolina Boating students most frequently ask.North Carolina Frequently Asked Questions