The following are the requirements for boat operators on Oregon waters.
- The Oregon Mandatory Boating Safety Education Law requires all boaters operating a boat powered by a motor greater than 10 horsepower (hp) to complete an approved boating education course and apply for a permanent Boating Safety Education Card. This card is required to be carried on board while operating a boat.
- The law also establishes special requirements for younger boaters.
- Those less than 12 years of age may not legally operate any size powerboat.
- Those 12 to 15 years of age:
- May legally operate a boat powered by a motor of 10 hp or less alone only if he/she has received his/her Boating Safety Education Card and is carrying it on board.
- May legally operate a boat powered by a motor of greater than 10 hp only if he/she:
- Has received his/her Boating Safety Education Card and…
- Is accompanied on board and is under the direct supervision of a parent, guardian, or responsible person 16 years old or older who possesses a valid Boating Safety Education Card. If the boat is a personal watercraft (PWC), the supervising person must be at least 18 years old and possess a valid Boating Safety Education Card.
- Those 16 years of age or older with a Boating Safety Education Card may operate a boat, including a PWC, without a supervising person on board.