Skip to main content

Course Outline

Federally controlled waters are waters on which vessels must observe federal requirements, including VDS requirements. These waters include:

  • Coastal waters (Coastal waters are the Atlantic Ocean; the Gulf of Mexico; and all bays, sounds, harbors, rivers, inlets, etc., where any entrance is over two miles wide to the first point where the distance between shorelines narrows to two miles.)
  • The Great Lakes
  • Territorial seas
  • Unit 4 of 6
  • Topic 10 of 19
  • Page 1 of 1