Skip to main content

Official Alabama Boating License Online

ALEA Marine Police Division logo
US Coast Guard logo

Take this Alabama–approved online boating course to complete your boaters safety education. is a delegated provider for the ALEA Marine Police Division.

Do you need to take a boaters safety course to get a Alabama boating license?

You need education if you are at least 12 years old.

ALEA Marine Police Division logo
US Coast Guard logo

How to Get your Boating License in 4 Easy Steps

Step 1

Boat step 1

est. 2–3 mins

Sign Up

Getting started is easy, simply sign up for a Boat Ed student account, pay for the official, state-approved course, and visit your student dashboard.

Step 2

Step 2 image

est. 3–4 hrs

Study & Pass at Your Own Pace

Take the course on any desktop, tablet or mobile device, and don't worry about completing everything in one sitting. We save your progress after each lesson!

Step 3

Boat step 3

est. 30–60 mins

Complete Additional State Requirements

As a final step, a state-required component is needed to obtain certification.

Step 4

Boat step 4

est. 0 mins

Get on the Water!

That's it! You're ready to confidently and legally drive a boat. Also you'll now have access to exclusive offers on additional courses and products!

Do you need a Boating License in Alabama?

Any motorized boat operator over 12 years old is required by Alabama law to pass a boater safety course and to carry a boater education card.

ALEA Marine Police Division Requirements

You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Alabama to take this online course.

What to Expect From the Boaters Safety Course

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.

Watch this 54-second sample to see how we put you in the driver’s seat.

Comprehensive Instruction in Alabama boaters Safety Course

This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by Alabama. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.

Pages from a boat handbook

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Boat Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Boat course displayed on various devices
Course outline displaying progress

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

Alabama Approved Boating License

ALEA Marine Police Division
Attn: Education Section
PO Box 304115 Montgomery, AL 36130

Made in the U.S.A.

This safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations worldwide.

Alabama Boating License FAQs

The boater education certificate in Alabama is often called a “boating license.” While the certificate is often called an Alabama boating license, the certification does not expire and does not need to be renewed.

What is a vessel license?

The Alabama vessel license is a required proof of boater education that must be included on your Alabama driver’s license if you would like to operate a boat or motorized vessel of any kind. This is sometimes called an “Alabama boating license.”

In order to get a vessel license, you must:

  1. Bring proof of a completed boater certification course to the Department of Public Safety Driver’s License Examining Office in your county of residence.
  2. Complete an application, pay the required fee, and answer the medical questions.
  3. Take your completed form to the Probate or License Commissioner’s office to have the required “V” class placed on your driver’s license.

If you complete a boater safety course, you do not have to complete the exam at your Alabama DMV.

How old do you have to be to get a boating license in Alabama?

Alabama boating laws require all boaters age 12 and over to obtain a vessel license by completing a boater safety course. The vessel license is sometimes called a “boating license.”

Get Certified
ALEA Marine Police Division logo

To operate a personal watercraft (PWC) such as a jet ski in Alabama, state law requires everyone born on or after January 1, 1984 to obtain a state-approved boater safety education card. The Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources is responsible for enforcing this law and can issue fines for noncompliance.

In addition to earning boater safety education card, or boating license, here are a few safety tips to follow when jet skiing in Alabama:

  • Always wear a life jacket: It's important to wear a properly fitting life jacket at all times when operating a PWC.
  • Be aware of your surroundings: Watch out for other boats, obstacles, and swimmers. Jet skiers can be hard to see, so make sure you stay alert.
  • Follow the speed limit: Alabama law requires all PWC operators to follow the posted speed limits and no-wake zones.
  • Don't drink and jet ski: Just like with driving a car, operating a PWC under the influence of alcohol or drugs is illegal and dangerous.
  • Respect wildlife and the environment: Alabama has some beautiful lakes and waterways, so be sure to treat them with respect and avoid damaging the environment or disturbing wildlife.

By following these tips, and obtaining your boating license if required, you can have a safe and enjoyable experience jet skiing in Alabama.

Progressive and

Protect your on-water adventures

Relaxing on the water is easy when you’re protected with a leader in boat insurance. Progressive has the coverages you need to explore carefree and full of adventure! Discover how we can protect your boat today with coverage we offer to the 1 million+ watercraft we already insure.

Get a Quote
Established 1937, 1+ million boats insured

Wavve Boating

A Wavve of Savings

Get your first year FREE!

Complete your course and get the first year of Wavve Boating for FREE.

Learn More

Alabama Boating FAQs

Price and Payment

How much does the Alabama Boat Ed Course cost?

The Alabama Boat Ed Course fee is $44.95.

Taking the Course

Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Alabama?

Do I have to complete the course all at once?

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.

What is the minimum age to take this online course?

You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.

Do I have to be a resident to take the Alabama Boat Ed Course?

You do not have to be a resident of Alabama to take this online course.

Course Approval and Acceptance

Is the Alabama Boat Ed Course approved by the ALEA Marine Police Division?

The Alabama Boat Ed Course is approved and accepted by the ALEA Marine Police Division.

Is my Alabama Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion accepted elsewhere?

For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Quizzes and/or Exams

I failed a unit quiz. Have I failed the course?

If you fail a unit quiz, you must restudy the unit and take the quiz again until you pass. You must score at least 70% on the unit quizzes to pass.

Do I have to take an online exam?

The Boating License Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.

About Your Certification

What is the proof of online Alabama Boat Ed Course completion?

Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Proof of Home Study Voucher. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Proof of Home Study Voucher right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 365 days after course completion.

What is the permanent Alabama Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion?

The Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion will arrive within 2-3 weeks after you complete all certification requirements.

Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents

How do I replace my Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?

If your card was lost, stolen, destroyed, or if your legal name has been changed, you may apply for a replacement card for a $5 fee.

Send a written request* and your $5 fee (payable by cash, certified check, or money order) to:
ALEA Marine Police Division
Attn: Education Section
P.O. Box 304115
Montgomery, AL 36130

*In the written request please include:

  • Name
  • Social Security # or birthdate
  • Date of class (if known; approximate year of class if date not known)
  • Location of class
  • Your mailing address

You may contact Jennifer Ames with the Alabama Marine Police at [email protected], 334-517-2938, or 1-800-272-7930, or Lisa Miles at [email protected], 334-517-2942, or 1-800-272-7930 with questions on certificates or to verify information in certification database.

We’re people, not robots.

Visit our Boat Ed help center for frequently asked questions, troubleshooting, or for further customer support!

Boat Ed Help Center

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team