Skip to main content

Course Outline

The law establishes special requirements for younger boaters.

  • A person under 12 years of age may operate a vessel propelled by a motor of more than 10 horsepower, including a personal watercraft (PWC), only if he or she is accompanied on board by a responsible person who is at least 18 years old and experienced in operating the boat or PWC.
  • A person 12 years of age or older but younger than 18 years of age may operate a vessel propelled by a motor of more than 10 horsepower, including a PWC, only if he or she:
    • Has successfully completed a boater education course approved by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (IA DNR) or...
    • Is accompanied on board by a responsible person who is at least 18 years old and experienced in operating the boat or PWC.
Iowa Boater Education Certificate
Operators require to have a boater education certificate must carry it on board.
  • Unit 4 of 6
  • Topic 2 of 19
  • Page 1 of 1