Penalties for Boating Under the Influence
The Georgia Boat Safety Act sets these penalties.
- Those arrested for BUI may lose their privilege to operate a boat or PWC until they successfully complete a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. They also will be charged with a misdemeanor punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and/or prison time for up to one year.
- A person found operating a boat or PWC under the influence while a child under the age of 14 years is on board also is guilty of the separate charge of endangering a child.