South Carolina law establishes the following penalties.
- Penalties include a fine of up to $6,000 and imprisonment for up to three years. In addition, a person’s privilege to operate any vessel may be suspended for up to two years. Enrollment in, and successful completion of, an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action course and a South Carolina boating safety course also are required at the person’s expense.
- Felony BUI (boating under the influence) carries penalties of up to a $25,000 fine and 25 years of imprisonment.