You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Alabama Boat Ed Course.
Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion.
If you are 12 years old or older, you may obtain boater safety certification by fulfilling any one of the conditions below.
Show a valid course certificate obtained by passing a boating safety course:
Offered by U.S. Power Squadrons or by U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary or ...
Approved by the ALEA Marine Police Division.
Pass a certification examination administered by the Alabama Department of Public Safety Driver's License Division.
Show a valid U.S. Coast Guard Motorboat Operator's License.
Show proof that you were 40 years old or older as of April 28, 1994.
If you are required to have boater safety certification, you must carry proof of your Alabama boater safety certification on board when operating a power-driven vessel and make it available upon request to any person with law enforcement authority.
Temporary exemptions exist for boater safety certification:
A new owner of a vessel may operate without boater certification for 30 days from the date of sale providing the vessel is registered in his or her name and a bill of sale is on board naming him or her as the purchaser.
A person may operate a rented vessel without boater safety certification if:
He or she has been instructed in safe and proper operation of the vessel by the rental business and...
He or she is not currently under suspension or revocation of any boater certification or vessel operation privilege.
Certification may be cancelled, suspended, or revoked if you operate a vessel while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, operate in a reckless or careless manner, or on points.