Skip to main content

Course Outline

There are four types of approved distress flares:

  • Type A: Rocket parachute flare (red)
  • Type B: Multi-star flare (red)
  • Type C: Hand-held flare (red)
  • Type D: Smoke signal—buoyant or hand-held (orange)
Rocket Parachute Flare

Type A: Rocket Parachute Flare (red)

Multi-Star Flare

Type B: Multi-Star Flare (red)

Hand-Held Flare

Type C: Hand-Held Flare (red)

Smoke Signal

Type D: Smoke Signal—Buoyant or Hand-Held (orange)

  • Unit 2 of 6
  • Topic 5 of 9
  • Page 4 of 5