Utah law requires the following with respect to PFDs.
- All vessels must have at least one USCG–approved Type I, II, III, or V PFD for each person on board.
- In addition to the above requirement, one USCG–approved throwable Type IV device must be on board vessels 16 feet or longer. The Type IV device must be immediately available. Immediately available means the device must be quickly reachable in an emergency situation.
- Children 12 years old and younger must wear a USCG–approved PFD while on board any vessel. The only exception is if the child is within the enclosed cabin area of a vessel at least 19 feet in length.
- Each person on board a PWC and each person being towed behind a vessel on water skis or other devices must wear a USCG–approved PFD.
- Each person on board a vessel operating on Utah's rivers must wear a USCG–approved PFD. Persons older than 12 years of age may loosen or remove their PFDs while on designated flat water areas.
- Inflatable PFDs are not approved for use by persons on PWC, persons being towed behind vessels, children, or persons boating on rivers.
- All PFDs must be clearly marked with the USCG approval number, in good and serviceable condition, and readily accessible. The PFDs must be of the proper size for the intended wearer. Sizing for PFDs is based on body weight and chest size.